## DEBATES

IN THE

# LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL OF CEYLON,

### On Friday, November 20, 1925.

Pursuant to notice the Honourable the Members of the Legislative Council met at the Council Chamber at 10 A.M. this day.

#### PRESENT:

- THE HONOURABLE SIR JAMES PEIRIS, Kt. (COLOMBO TOWN, SOUTH), VICE-PRESIDENT.
- THE HONOURABLE MR R. N. THAINE, ACTING COLONIAL SECRETARY.
- THE HONOURABLE MR. H. W. CODRINGTON, ACTING CONTROLLER OF REVENUE.
- THE HONOURABLE MR. W. W. WOODS, TREASURER.
- THE HONOURABLE MR. N. H. M. ABDUL CADER (SECOND MUSLIM MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. T. Y. WRICHT (EUROPEAN RURAL MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. H. A. LOOS (NOMINATED UNOFFICIAL MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. W. DURAISWAMY (NORTHERN PROVINCE, WESTERN DIVISION).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. D. H. KOTALAWALA (PROVINCE OF UVA).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. E. W. PERERA (KALUTARA REVENUE DISTRICT).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. E. R. TAMBIMUTTU (BATTICALOA REVENUE DISTRICT).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. A. C. G. WIJEYEKOON (NOMINATED UNOFFICIAL MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. E. J. HAYWARD, C.B.E., V.D. (COMMERCIAL MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. C. W. W. KANNANGARA (SOUTHERN PROVINCE, WESTERN DIVISION).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. A. CANAGARATNAM (NORTHERN PROVINCE, SOUTHERN DIVISION).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. T. B. JAYAH (THIRD MUSLIM MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. D. B. JAYATILAKA (COLOMBO DISTRICT).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. H. M. MACAN MARKAR (FIRST MUSLIM MEMBER).
  - THE HONOURABLE MR. G. E. MADAWALA (NORTH-WESTERN PROVINCE, EASTERN DIVISION).
  - THE HONOURABLE MR. A. MAHADEVA (WESTERN PROVINCE, CEYLON TAMIL).
  - THE HONOURABLE MR. A. F. MOLAMURE (KEGALIA REVENUE DISTRICT).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. A. H. E. MOLAMURE (RATNAPURA REVENUE DISTRICT).

- THE HONOURABLE MR. S. RAJARATNAM (NORTHERN PROVINCE, CENTRAL DIVISION).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. D. S. SENANAYAKE (NEGOMBO DISTRICT).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. M. M. SUBRAMANIAM (TRINCOMALEE REVENUE DISTRICT).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. V. S. DE S. WIKREMANAYAKE (SOUTHERN PROVINCE, EASTERN DIVISION).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. G. A. H. WILLE (FIRST BURGHER MEMBER).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. W. A. DE SILVA (CENTRAL PROVINCE, URBAN).
- THE HONOURABLE MR. P. B. RAMBUKWELLE (CENTRAL PROVINCE, RURAL).

MR. J. A. MAYBIN, Clerk to the Council.

#### Minutes Confirmed.

The Minutes of the Meetings of October 8 and 9, 1925, were confirmed.

#### Swearing-in.

The Hon. Mr. R. N. Thaine, Acting Colonial Secretary, subscribed to the oath of allegiance.

#### Vote of Condolence on Death of Second Indian Member.

THE HON. THE ACTING COLONIAL SECRETARY:—Sir since the last meeting of Council I regret to state that the Second Indian Member, the Honourable Mr. Mohamed Sultan, has died. I move that this Council do pass a vote of condolence with his family.

THE HON. THE VICE-PRESIDENT:—I take it that Honourable Members assent to this motion. I associate myself with the regret expressed by the House.

The vote of condolence was passed in silence, the Members standing.

#### Adjournment.

THE HON, THE VICE-PRESIDENT:—Council will now adjourn sine die.